Seatown Winter Blues

We have the blues. We are mired in February and it’s been raining for days. Months, even. I can’t remember the last ray of sunshine I inhaled. We are doing our best to make rainbows. We’ve been on a lot of worm hunts, visiting “worm town” regularly, where at last count there were 36 drowning worms in at least as many puddles. The grey is heavy on our hearts, my own heart most specifically. The boys don’t much seem to notice. Even Toulouse our dog has the blues. But today, today gave us a tiny glimpse of what is to come: spring. And goodness, we cannot wait. I’m inhaling the gorgeous fragrance of the first flowers of the daphne, planted all over my yard in the last couple of years to remind me, midwinter, of the promise of spring. Each year I should memorize this into my heart: seasons are not eternal and blues can be undone.

IMG_3229

IMG_3255Those big eyes of his. How can we not go  bask in the mud with him?IMG_3346

IMG_3372

IMG_3214

IMG_3249

IMG_3237

IMG_3338

IMG_3267

IMG_3342

IMG_3375

i thank You God for most this amazing
day:for the leaping greenly spirits of trees
and a blue true dream of sky; and for everything
which is natural which is infinite which is yes

(i who have died am alive again today,
and this is the sun’s birthday; this is the birth
day of life and of love and wings: and of the gay
great happening illimitably earth)

how should tasting touching hearing seeing
breathing any–lifted from the no
of all nothing–human merely being
doubt unimaginable You?

(now the ears of my ears awake and
now the eyes of my eyes are opened)

–e.e. cummings

IMG_3258

6 thoughts on “Seatown Winter Blues

Leave a comment